25 Things You Should Give Up for Lent This Year—and Forever

I have my own beliefs, and they don’t really involve partaking of Lent. HOWEVER, Lent does give us another reason to make room for needed lifestyle changes, beyond the status quo of 40-day candy and alcohol fasts. If it’s about self-improvement, and creating better habits… I’m all in. Slacked off on your New Years Resolutions?! Don’t worry… here’s another chance! This year the beginning of Lent is on Wednesday, February 18 and will end on Thursday, April 2. It’s not too late. Here are 25 things I think we all (myself included) should stop doing immediately, regardless of our religious beliefs.

  1. Putting it all out there. Create some mystery about yourself, leave some things to the imagination, and allow just those closest to you to know it all. Another thing I want to add to this… stop airing out all your dirty laundry on social media. It’s just not needed. I’m talking about twitter or Facebook, or even Instagram for that case. Those aren’t really the outlets to blast on your personal feelings.
  2. Being late. This is an issue  near and dear to my heart. I too need to work on this. Don’t have people wait on you, their time is just as valuable as yours.
  3. Spending time with people you don’t actually like. There are too many wonderful souls out there in the world to waste time with people who don’t interest you and make you want to be a better person. Haven’t found people who do? Try harder. Try something new.
  4. Avoiding your parents. They’ve done a lot for you; appreciate their attempts to see and talk to you—and know that all they’re trying to do is care and look out for you.
  5. Texting while someone is talking to you. It’s rude. Also, stop scrolling through Instagram at the dinner table, too. Just put your phone down when you are with people. Take in the human interaction.
  6. Waiting/Putting things off. It’s never going to be a good time. Get that thing you’ve been dreading over with and move on. Take the (calculated) risk you’ve been dreaming of and don’t look back.
  7. Overworking yourself. Find a healthy work/life balance and become a well-rounded person. No one wants to promote someone with bags under their eyes. If you are a workaholic, find an enjoyable outlet in between your hustle and bustle. When I feel like I’m on the verge of a Mariah Carey breakdown… I take some time and find a yoga class. Sometimes you need to just sit your behind down and relax.
  8. Thinking you have it worse. Simply because you don’t. Everyone has their own set of problems. As Plato said, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”
  9. Wasting money on trends. There’s nothing sexy about someone who can’t manage a budget. You’ll be much happier if you’re not living paycheck to paycheck.
  10. Fibbing about yourself. If you don’t feel interesting enough to tell people about the real you, it’s probably because you’re not allowing yourself to learn and develop your interests. Get out there and make your life more fascinating than white lies could ever make it sound.
  11. Sleeping with your cell phone next to your face. Give yourself some web and communication-free time before you sleep and when you wake up—those few precious minutes might be all you have all day.
  12. Always saying “yes.” Life is full of choices. Be discerning about what’s right for you, and don’t feel always obliged to give an affirmative response.
  13. Staying indoors. Get outside and let the sun shine on your face at least once a day. Theres so much in the world to venture and enjoy. Do so!
  14. Ordering “the usual.” Even if you’re eating at your old standby, be adventurous every once in a while and try something new on the menu. Live a Little !!!
  15. Traveling to the same places. The world is full of breathtaking landscapes and riveting cultures. Whether it’s one state over or an ocean away, add some new push-pins to your world map.
  16. Borrowing money. Don’t be that guy. Live within your means. Debt is the enemy.
  17. Disobeying traffic laws. You’re asking for a ticket or a hospital bill if you do. We all have better things to do than sit in traffic court or driving school. Do what you need to do to avoid them.
  18. Saying “I would never do that.” don’t know that; you hope that, but you don’t know that. Never say never. We as humans are ever evolving. You
  19. Judging people before you speak to them. Often times they’ll surprise you—and serves you right if they do.
  20. Worrying about what you can’t do. Improve your weaknesses as much as you can, but focus on building and selling your strengths.
  21. Falling off the face of the earth. Professionally and socially, keep in touch with those you’ve build great relationships with. We all thrive on personal connection, and you never know how valuable someone may be to you later on.
  22. Beating around the bush. Being direct and succinct is an art form; hone it. Don’t like  a situation? Speak up on it. If you are going to continue to stay quiet and not speak your mind… stop complaining about it. Speak up. The sooner you get it off your chest, the better.
  23. Being shy/timid. Chances are the person you’d like to speak to may feel timid too. Once you break the ice, you’re home free.
  24. Feeling regret. Eff it. Go make more mistakes. Take risks. Live boldly. Don’t waste time thinking about things you can’t change.
  25. Thinking only of yourself. Selflessness is the most virtuous act. You’ll never get anywhere by doing so.

What do you guys think? Was there anything listed here, that speaks to you? What are on some of your Lent lists? I’d love to hear.

7 comments

  1. I really appreciate this list. I do celebrate Lent but even for people who don’t this is a great list of goals to just make yourself a better person. I think #6 really speaks to me, I’ve been trying hard to stop procrastinating, I feel so much better when I just make a list and actually stick to it. A couple others I thought were good as well are #8 and #19, I think a lot of people could benefit from following your logic. All in all, I appreciate this list and it made me reflect on how I could better myself this Lent.

    xoxo. Sam.
    http://www.diyjustcuz.com

    1. Yes, these are things that I know for me personally, I struggle with, so I decided to make a list of it. I make a list out of everything though lol. Thats just how I go on with my days.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read! I’m so glad that you found some inspiration. I appreciate your thoughts and words so much.xoxo

Talk to me! xoxo

