Homemade Sugar Scrub

If you have been following me, then you know I am a skin freak . I love smooth skin, healthy skin, and anything that will give me a glow. Over the years I have become increasingly obsessed with exfoliants. Some of my personal favorites come from brands such as: Carols Daughter, Body Shop, and Whole Foods options.

As we all know skin care products can get pricey. Retail price for a good quality exfoliant can run you about $11-$54.

I am all about organic products. I have super sensitive skin. I’ve always had to stick to organic, and earth grown products when it comes to my skin. I prefer it that way though. The only part of my body that doesn’t get organic products is my face, and that’s because my face needs some serious assistance sometimes lol.

Now, in my opinion . You need a good scrub to do (2) things:

  1. Nourish your skin
  2. Remove dead skin

If you look online there are plenty of DIY sugar scrubs . You can google just about all types of scrubs, and find one that is fitting to any personal skin needs.

I wanted to share one that I created, and have found increasingly helpful.

I’ve been making this scrub for years and I am so incredibly pleased with it. This scrub leaves skin feeling hydrated, smooth, even, and smelling good. This scrub is thick, and it smells like coconut, shea butter , and baby oils . That’s what the smell reminds me of anyways.

My Ingredients and measurements:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup coconut oil
5 teaspoons of vaseline (cocoa butter)
Molten Brown oil (whole thing)
Generous drops of real lemon juice

I like my exfoliant to be grainy and rough. If you want it to be softer, and not as tough, add more oils.

I mix all the ingredients in the measuring cup, and then add the sugar .

Once all components are combined. Mix until you are satisfied with the texture.

Store in a glass container (essential oils will damage the plastic and metals change the properties of the oils).

Even though glass holds oils better, it is hard to get the exfoliant out. Therefore you will need a spoon nearby to scoop it out.

IMG_0948

***If you don’t have a mason jar or glass container, try using old containers. As long as they have efficient tops, and close properly. You should be ok.

Here’s an old Trader Joe’s lotion jar, and another older body scrub container. It’s always good to recycle.

IMG_0944 IMG_0950

As far as the jar size, it all depends on your preference. I personally don’t like to load jars up because over time, things might get crusty, and it’s always good to switch things out and wash the containers. If you don’t go crazy, this amount should last about 2 months give or take. A little of this stuff goes a long way, believe me.

To use:

I personally feel that scrubs work better on dry skin. Once the water hits the scrub it starts to dissolve, therefore it defeats the whole purpose of the scrub.

Professionals say to use body scrub 2-4x a week. You don’t want to overdo it, because too much exfoliating can actually be harmful to your skin. The article Exfoliating 101, is a nice guide to various skin types, and whats the appropriate weekly scrub  amount.

Before you get in the shower, lather your body with the scrub. I rub it all over my body, and I like to give extra attention to my elbows, knees, derrière, and feet. This scrub can also be used on the lips, and works wonders.

Just be careful not to swallow it. Yes, most of the ingredients are edible, but you should avoid ingesting essential oils (one of the key ingredients) and here’s why.

After you have applied the scrub to your body, you can rinse in the shower. You should still be able to feel the oils afterward.

Or you can reverse the order. Take your shower and when you get out the shower, dry off. Apply the scrub, and rub it off with a wet wash cloth.

Notes:

1. You can, of course, use other granulated sweeteners. I just chose white sugar since I am not eating it and it’s the least expensive.

2. Any oil will work, but olive has a stronger smell. I think choosing a good quality oil is important since some of it will remain on your skin. I prefer Coconut Oil.

3. For essentials oils, there are so many wonderful scents and healing properties to choose from! Lavender, citrus (grapefruit, lemon, lime, orange), lemongrass, peppermint, ginger & the list goes on and on….. I would for sure choose a high quality oil, though it will cost more, since you are leaving this on your skin as well. Want some ideas? Click here!

How much will you save making your own Homemade Sugar Scrub?

Here’s a sampling of what you might expect to pay:

Granulated sugar is $2.58 for 5 lb at (that’s $.52/lb)

Coconut oil is $8.70 at any organic food supply store

Essential Oils $2.99-$3.99

Lemon Juice $1.98

Vaseline Cocoa Butter $3.19

These supplies will last you MONTHS, probably over a year if you buy them one time, and the grand total is $19.44! That amount can get you one jar of quality exfoliant at a retail store.

My Cost (based off the fraction of product used)

Sugar: $.27

Coconut Oil: $1.59

Essential Oil: $.28

Lemon Juice: $.50

… and so forth …

(I didn’t include the mason jar, or recycled plastic containers because you can reuse them!)

So, compared to retail price of the “packaged version” at $18 for 6 oz., you can make homemade sugar scrub for only $2.14 -$3.00, saving 97%!

And you don’t get questionable ingredients or wasteful packaging!

Interested in other scrubs or methods? Here’s a few other links I found helpful.

Nourishing Homemade Sugar Scrub

Lauren Conrad |DIY Gift Guide: Homemade Sugar Scrubs

Body & Facial Scrubs: How to Make Salt and Sugar Scrubs

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask, I love this kind of stuff 🙂

15 comments

  1. Love this and I already have all of the ingredients on hand. I do use this Dove exfoliating creamy soap for my body, then I combine Curel lotion with cocoa butter baby oil and I’m a soft kitten. I started using this Neutrogena microdermabrasion brush for my face that I’m still waiting to see the awesome results, but so far so good. I’m so lazy when it comes to my skin which is bad haha

    1. YESSSS! You have to try it. I am a skin fiend. I will spend all types of money on skincare. smh. It’s so sad. Crazy thing is, most of the really good scrubs you can make yourself and it takes no time. This was done in like 30 minutes and thats because I have A.D.D and everything takes me longer. lol

      One day when you are just chilling out you should make it. I have a few home remedies for skin, especially for black women. I think I’m going to make a category for the body and start sharing.

      Please let me know how that brush treats you. Are those the facial brushes that skin around? I had a trial one before and i loved it. I need to get another one. They are just so damn pricey lol

      1. Yeah, it’s a brush that spins around, but mine has detachable pads! It has two settings for speed and the vibrations feel ahmahzing! I will be trying the scrub though and I shall let you know how it goes 😀

  2. This is pretty cool. I hate putting items on my face. Recently started and the response has been well received. Never thought about making my own. Might try this out, but just like take out sometimes I just want to have something that’s readily available with no maintenance. Recently I have been interested in the ingredients products use so its amazing to actually know what exactly is in a product. Hard to trust these labels these days.

Talk to me! xoxo

