Having a Bad Day?

The world is so hectic, and life can get overwhelming, and sometimes we forget to make time for the most important person…. OURSELF. Last year I had a really rough year, and lost sight of some of the things that make me… ME. I wanted to share a few things with you guys that I do on a weekly basis that make me feel like myself. When my world is going crazy these are the things that I need to stay well-balanced.

Pamper Thyself. Feeling good about yourself is a huge component in overall self-esteem. When you look good, you feel good, and I stand by that firmly. The world may be going crazy and life might suck but if you are on point that’s one thing that can make you feel a little better about every situation. Something as simple as an outfit, or a new piece of clothing. Get your haircut, or make some time for a mani or pedi. I know I personally find a lot of joy in lotions and exfoliates. A good workout always brings my mood up and makes me feel accomplished. My point is to do something for your temple. If you are good to your temple your temple will be good to you.

Feel Sexy! Feeling sexy is always a mood booster. Go out with some friends and put on something that makes you feel good. If feeling sweaty and swollen makes you feel hot ? Go to the gym. Wine tasting makes you feel steamy? Make a date of it. Just do something that will get your juices flowing. Turn yourself on.

Keep Good Company. There is nothing more uplifting than good company. When I’m in a funk the first thing I try to do is get up with friends. It’s the best outlet. Friends are like our own personal therapists… yes they are unlicensed and completely bias …. but they are soooooo needed. Sometimes we just need to vent to a live person, that just gets us.

Write it Out. Yes we have friends and family, but we all have things we might not ever want to talk about and things we might take to the grave. This is when a journal or a diary is essential. When I have a really atrocious day or a humiliating incident, I make sure to take some time and write in my journal. Within those pages I can be as honest and as real as I want to. This is where I can share my most intimate thoughts. I try to make it a habit to write everyday or at least 3 times a week. Journals are like memoirs. I’ve kept a personal journal since I was 13, and I love reading over my personal growth. My journal is better than any imaginary friend I could ever ask for. If you don’t have one… get one. I promise you will start to feel better.

Music. Music makes the world go round. When you had a rough day there is nothing like a playlist that just speaks to you. Go for a nice drive, or just lay up and listen to some music that will move you. There is a song and artist for every situation in life.

Alone Time. Sometimes you just need to wind down by yourself and gather your thoughts. There is nothing wrong with that. Self reflection and meditation is a great way to calm yourself down and sort out your thoughts. Everyone needs time to themselves. If you don’t do anything else, make sure you find time to try this. After you wind down and take some “Me Time,” you’ll feel better. It’s almost like a reset button, you’ll feel anew and more equipped.

“Remember it’s a bad day. Not a bad life.” 

Things can AND will get better.

These are just a few things that I try to do. Yesterday I had a pretty rough day, and I had a wonderful conversation with JMD398. The combination of the bad day and good conversation inspired this post.

What kind of things do you guys do to unwind and regain balance? What’s your bad day regime?

14 comments

  1. I don’t really know what I do, I just do…your making me look into what I like, and I like that. We have a couple of things to figure out this weekend. I just added to the agenda

  2. I really enjoyed this post, as a college student I feel like I never have time for myself, but these are all very practical ways to unwind that even I can do in my busy schedule

    1. Congrats on being a student in college ! Thats always exciting. && yes it can be a stressful environment lol. Im so thankful you took the time to read. Let me know if you get the chance to try any of the suggestions out 🙂

  3. I use to eat when I was feeling stressed and depressed. It didn’t make me feel better. Now I work out. There is nothing like being in the company of those that know you best.

    1. I love the fact that you found another outlet! I agree, working out feels great =)
      And yes I love to be around people. Good company is usually my first outlet of choice. Thanks so much for reading, I really liked your input!

Talk to me! xoxo

