Currently Reading…

I’m an avid reader. Always have been. I enjoy motivating and uplifting books. This year I’m launching a few projects and I’ve been reading some books that have really catapulted my dedication. I always found interest in seeing what other people enjoy reading, so I thought I would share with you guys what’s currently on my nightstand. Here are three books I’m currently obsessed with.

The Young Entrepreneur’s Guide is the bible of self-help. It not only tells the story of many young people who have made the journey to success and self-respect, but shows step-by-step how you can do the same.I’ve read some books before and they can be dry and hard to understand. Through stories of young entrepreneurs who have started businesses, this book illustrates how to turn hobbies, skills, and interests into profit-making ventures. Mariotti describes the characteristics of the successful entrepreneur and covers the nuts and bolts of getting a business up, running and successful.

If you aren’t familiar with business lingo, some books can end up being long reads. This book is completely different. It’s humorous and gives a well detailed breakdown of everything you need to know from; marketing, business plans, social media impact and investors. If you are thinking about starting any type of business this book is a must have.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2eb/81534316/files/2015/01/img_0093-0.jpg

The second book I wanted to discuss was #GIRLBOSS. LET US PRAISE SOPHIA AMORUSO!!! #GIRLBOSS is more than a book and Sophia Amoruso is more than a purveyor of (fine and fly) garments. #GIRLBOSS is a movement—a philosophy for making your work life as fun, fresh and raunchy as your personal adventures. Sophia encourages us to own the qualities we’ve previously been ashamed of and learn to embrace them in order to become the masters of our own destiny, financially independent and radically ourselves. I’m so in. I love it. It’s like a new rule book for ruling the world.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2eb/81534316/files/2015/01/img_0095-0.jpg

Last but not least, I wanted to address a book that feeds me spiritually. Reading about self help and business can get mentally exhausting. It’s always good to have a book around that taps into your spiritual foundation. I can appreciate a daily devotional. This book of 365 daily devotionals supports the time-honored conflict, “Why put it off?” When I was about 20years old, I had to go to court due to a domestic violence dispute I had with my boyfriend. My lawyer ended up giving me this book. During that time the book was like food for my soul. I needed it. I’m 25 years old and still read it EVERYDAY. I still need it. It’s good for clarity, and understanding. Each month carries a theme with it and the daily devotionals are centered around that theme.

Iyanla Vanzant knows how easy it is to stay stuck in “old sentiments, resentments, beliefs, decisions, agreements, judgments, and ideas that may have become habitual.” Everyday this book has a powerful message that you carry with you throughout the day. It’s definitely an all time favorite of mine.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2eb/81534316/files/2015/01/img_0094-2.jpg

Have any of you read any of these? Do you guys have any other suggestions as far as good books to read? I would love to hear about them.

8 comments

  1. I too am an avid reader, and i especially enjoy reading self-help, motivational books and recently some novels. I’m also reading an Iyanla Vanzant book at the moment, its titled “Forgiveness. 21 days to forgive everyone for everything”.

Talk to me! xoxo

